Virginia · Rabbit · 2026–27 Edition
Virginia Rabbit Season 2026–27: Dates & Bag Limits
01 — Seasons
| Season | Zone | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Rabbit | Statewide | Oct 31 – Feb 28 |
02 — Bag limits
| Daily | 6 |
|---|---|
| Possession | Not specified by Virginia DWR in the small-game or general regulations pages — no possession limit found beyond the daily bag |
03 — Shooting hours
Legal light on opening day (October 31, 2026) 06:09 — 17:47
Rule: One half-hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset — DWR states this once for 'nonmigratory birds and game animals', which covers cottontail rabbit. Sunrise/sunset shift daily — the times above are computed for opening day; use your local Virginia sun times for any other date.
04 — License
Rabbit hunters in Virginia need a Virginia hunting license.
Virginia hunting license cost →
Where to hunt public land in Virginia — WMAs by county & access rules →
05 — FAQ
When does rabbit season start in Virginia?
The 2026–27 opener is October 31, 2026. See the table above for the full window.
When does rabbit season end in Virginia?
The 2026–27 closing date is February 28, 2027.
Is there a closed season on rabbit in Virginia?
Yes — see the dates above. Outside that window, taking rabbit is closed in Virginia.
How many rabbits can you shoot in Virginia per day?
2026–27 bag limits: Daily — 6. Possession — Not specified by Virginia DWR in the small-game or general regulations pages — no possession limit found beyond the daily bag. Limits are set per zone and per permit — check the agency's own regulations before you hunt.
What time can you start shooting rabbit in Virginia?
On opening day (October 31, 2026) legal light runs 06:09 to 17:47. The rule is: One half-hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset — DWR states this once for 'nonmigratory birds and game animals', which covers cottontail rabbit. Sunrise and sunset shift daily, so work the offset against your local Virginia sun times for any other date.
Can I hunt rabbits on my own land in Virginia without a license?
Virginia landowners — resident or nonresident — plus their spouse, children, grandchildren, and parents, may hunt, trap, and fish without a license anywhere within their own land's boundaries. That covers the base license, bear, deer/turkey, archery, muzzleloading, trapping, and the state waterfowl stamp. Tenants living on the land get the same right with the landlord's written consent; the federal Duck Stamp and HIP registration still apply.
Verified · Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources · Last verified 2026-08-14
Publisher's note. Official DWR small-game regulations page, fetched directly — statewide dates and daily bag limit confirmed, no East/West-of-Blue-Ridge split found for rabbit (unlike some VA deer/furbearer rules). A distinct possession limit is not stated on the small-game page or the general regulations page — rather than guessing a 'twice daily' figure, this is left unstated below, matching what DWR actually publishes. No rabbit-specific shooting-hours exception was found; Virginia's general rule (one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset for nonmigratory game, per dwr.virginia.gov/hunting/regulations/general/) applies and is left to the state registry default. No youth/apprentice small-game day was found (VA's confirmed youth/apprentice weekend is for deer only, late September). Harvested rabbits not kept for consumption must be disposed of by burial, incineration, or double-bagging (RHDV2 rule); out-of-state rabbits must be fully dressed before import into Virginia.