Ohio · Hunter safety · 2026 Edition
Ohio Hunter Safety Course 2026: Cost & Online Options
Ohio sets no birth-year cutoff. Under ORC 1533.10(G)(2), no hunting license other than an apprentice license can be issued unless you show a certificate of hunter education, evidence of equivalent training, or a previously held hunting license — so the duty attaches to whether you've held a license before, not to when you were born. Ohio residents 12 and older can certify entirely online, from $24.95.
Ohio is one of the few states with no birth-year cutoff at all: the duty turns on whether you've held a license before, the same shape as Pennsylvania and California, rather than on when you were born. It is also unusually simple to price out online — ODNR designates exactly one approved vendor, hunter-ed.com, at $24.95, and that single course certifies you outright with no field day. The classroom and home-study routes are free by rule, though a class may add a small materials fee. A hunter who would rather skip the course for now can start on an apprentice license instead, hunting under a licensed adult until they're ready to certify.
01 — Who needs it
Ohio sets no birth-year cutoff. Under ORC 1533.10(G)(2), no hunting license other than an apprentice license can be issued unless you show a certificate of hunter education, evidence of equivalent training, or a previously held hunting license — so the duty attaches to whether you've held a license before, not to when you were born.
New hunters can buy an apprentice license instead — no hunter education certificate required yet, resident or nonresident, from age 10 — and hunt under a licensed adult of 21 or older while they decide whether to take the course.
Statute: ORC 1533.10(G)(2)
02 — Course options
| Course | Format | Who | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instructor-led course | In person | Not stated | Free | 8-12 hours, usually over two days — Free by rule, though a class may charge a nominal materials or facility fee (OAC 1501:31-29-01). Run by certified volunteers and Division of Wildlife staff — bring a pencil and highlighter, no firearms or archery gear needed. ODNR publishes no statewide minimum age; check the individual class listing. |
| Home-study course | Online + field day | Not stated | — | Coursework and quizzes at home, then one hands-on instructor-led session — Books through the same course finder as the classroom option — filter for Home Study rather than Classroom. ODNR publishes no set fee for it. |
| Online course | Online | Ohio residents 12 and older | — | About 8 hours at your own pace — Certifies you entirely online with no field day — pass the final exam after finishing every unit and print the certificate immediately. Under-12s can hunt on an apprentice license until an in-person course is available to them. |
A dash means ODNR publishes no set price for that route — what you pay depends on the provider you pick or on the individual class.
03 — Approved online courses, side by side
| Provider | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| hunter-ed.com | $24.95 |
ODNR's own course page links to exactly one approved online vendor for Ohio residents — hunter-ed.com. The $24.95 fee is what the vendor charges; ODNR does not set or publish course fees itself.
04 — Your certificate, and other states
Ohio hunter education certificates are valid for life — no renewal needed.
Ohio accepts hunter education certification from any other state, Canadian province or country that meets IHEA-USA standards, and an Ohio certificate is recognised everywhere else that requires one.
Ohio does not require bowhunter education to hunt with a bow. ODNR does offer an optional NBEF Bowhunter Education course online for Ohio residents 9 and older, $30 via bowhunter-ed.com — worth having since at least 11 other states and many countries require it.
05 — Where to register
Courses are booked through Ohio Division of Wildlife.
Find and register for an Ohio course →
Got your certificate? Next step: Ohio hunting license costs and permits →
Everything else we track for the state: Ohio hunting seasons →
Looking for somewhere to hunt? Ohio public hunting land — WMAs by county & access rules →
FAQ
Can I take the Ohio hunter safety course online?
Yes. Ohio residents 12 and older can certify entirely online, from $24.95. Ohio sets no birth-year cutoff. Under ORC 1533.10(G)(2), no hunting license other than an apprentice license can be issued unless you show a certificate of hunter education, evidence of equivalent training, or a previously held hunting license — so the duty attaches to whether you've held a license before, not to when you were born.
Is there a free hunter safety course in Ohio?
Every ODNR-approved online provider charges a fee; the cheapest is hunter-ed.com at $24.95. In-person courses run by the agency itself are often free — see the formats above.
How much does the Ohio hunter safety course cost?
Approved online providers run from $24.95 (hunter-ed.com). They all produce the same certificate, so the cheapest one certifies you just as well. Prices are set by the providers and change without notice — the table above was read on Aug 7, 2026.
How long does the Ohio hunter safety course take?
The online course runs about 8 hours at your own pace. That is course content, not a deadline — how many sittings you spread it over is up to you.
Verified · Ohio Division of Wildlife · Last verified 2026-08-07
Publisher's note. Requirements and course fees read from ODNR, retrieved 2026-08-07. Review due 2027-08-01. Course providers set their own prices and change them without notice — confirm before you pay.